• Rebecca Davis, soprano
  • Christian Bowers, baritone
  • Teresa Bucholtz, mezzo soprano
  • Kerri Marcinko, soprano
  • Mathew Edwardsen, tenor
  • Maria Elena Armijo, mezzo soprano
  • Benjamin Wenzelberg, boy soprano
  • Jun Nakabayashi, conductor
  • Company

The Inaugural Gala on December 2nd, 2012, introduced Kyrenia Opera to the community. Our stellar cast was led by Maestro Jun Nakabayashi in excerpts from some of the world’s most beloved operas and the U.S. premiere of Cypriot composer Evagoras Karagiorgis’ The Dream with orchestra. The moving performances of all the artists captured the hearts of the audience members both veteran lovers of opera as well as newcomers.

This remarkable evening marked the establishment of the Kyrenia Award, which recognizes an outstanding individual who demonstrates a commitment to the arts and their impact on humanity and to the ideals represented by Kyrenia. We were honored to have presented the first Kyrenia Award with the Municipality of Kyrenia in Cyprus and Mayor of Kyrenia Glafkos Cariolou to His Eminence Archbishop Demetrios of America in recognition of his commitment to the impact of the arts on humanity.

We are pleased also to have hosted students from Frank Sinatra School of the Arts, The Cathedral School, I.S. 141, P.S. 122, and The Diller-Quaile School of Music to the Gala and the dress rehearsal.